The main configuration of SUSE LINUX can be made with the configuration
/etc/sysconfig. The individual files in
/etc/sysconfig are only read by the scripts to which
they are relevant. This ensures that network settings, for example,
only need to
be parsed by network-related scripts. Many other system configuration
files are generated according to the settings in
/etc/sysconfig. This task is performed by SuSEconfig.
For example, if you change the network configuration, SuSEconfig
might make changes to the file
because this is one of the files relevant for the network configuration.
If you change anything in these files manually, run SuSEconfig afterwards to make sure that all the necessary changes are made in all the relevant places. If you change the configuration using the YaST sysconfig editor, all changes are applied automatically, because YaST automatically starts SuSEconfig to update the configuration files as needed.
This concept enables you to make basic changes to your configuration without
needing to reboot the system. Because some changes are rather complex, some
programs must be restarted for the changes to take effect. For example,
changes to the network configuration may require a restart of the network
programs concerned. This can be achieved by entering the commands
The recommended way to change the system configuration consists of the following steps:
Bring the system into single user mode (runlevel 1) with
Change the configuration files as needed. This can be done using an editor of your choice or with the sysconfig editor of YaST (refer to Section 7.8, “The YaST sysconfig Editor”).
|Manual Changes to the System Configuration|
If you do not use YaST to change the configuration files in
Execute SuSEconfig to make sure that the changes take effect. If you have changed the configuration files with YaST, this is done automatically.
Bring your system back to the previous runlevel with a command like
with the previous runlevel).
This procedure is mainly relevant when changing systemwide settings, such as the network configuration. Small changes should not require going into single user mode, but you could still do so to make absolutely sure that all the programs concerned are correctly restarted.
|Configuring Automated System Configuration|
To disable the automated system configuration by SuSEconfig,
set the variable